top of page

Entering the World of Yoga

It was summer of 2010 when I had just graduated from design school, about to start my design career, when everything came to a tumbling halt when I became ill. I tried different approaches and with some bad experiences with Western medicine, I gradually became more interested in alternative medicine or Traditional Chinese Medicine.

To help combat the struggle with physical, emotional and mental baggage, I looked into taking a yoga class. At first, it was difficult as I wasn't healthy enough to endure an hour practice. But I was diligent, and began to notice strength building up in all aspects. I began to read upon about the positive effects of the yoga practice and was intrigued.

I fell in love with it, and became a yogi, taking 4-5 classes per week. The yoga teacher I had at the time was great, and he also knew about the health issues I was battling. It was a quiet small space, which allowed the teacher to 'look after' each individual.

After a year or so, I thought about taking the yoga teaching certificate. However, financial situation, and still working on balancing my health issues, I postponed it for another time.

Fast forward to 2015, and though I still struggled from time to time with health, the timing seemed right, and I obtained my yoga 200 hour teacher training in the fall of that year while still working full-time as a designer. In the following spring, I also received my 70 hour yin certification.

Some people jumped into teaching right away, even people that you might not have thought they would. I also struggled with public speaking all my life, and I took the teacher training as one way to face my fears. I thought that teaching something I loved would make it worthwhile the nerve racking torture. It wasn't easy, and I took it slow. I volunteered to friends, and friends of friends once a month. Then to residents of the condo building I live in. I also teach one more time a month through a Yoga meetup.

I still get nervous, but it's nowhere close to what I remember when growing up. I think the wonderful feedback I get from the students make it all worthwhile. It's a rewarding practice for my soul; physically, mentally and emotionally.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page