top of page

Nectar Yoga B&B on Bowen Island

Nectar Yoga - Day 1

My yogi friend told me that her friend had a yoga retreat on Bowen Island. I was surprised to see that things were pretty much booked for the next 3 months, so I had to wait, but it’s good since I'm able to go when the weather is the best in mid August.

With the disappointment of a yoga retreat in Hawaii, I was a bit on guard for this one, even though the website and reviews were all fantastic.

It’s my first time to the island, so I was excited to see what it was like, despite being quite small. The speed limit on the roads seems to be 40km, so I had to keep reminding myself not to speed, being used to driving in crazy Vancouver. Yes, the island’s speed limit is 40km, and in the town area, 30km. However, even if you wanted to go fast, the hills and steep curves makes it undesirable to go any faster. Also, Andrea later tells me there are lots of deer on the island as they have no natural prey, so it’s best to drive with caution as they can be wandering around on the road. I saw 3 of them near the road while on the island, unfortunately, no photos of them.

The yoga place is easy to miss. Despite knowing the address and was keenly watching out for it, you come upon a small, but slight steep curve, and the entrance is right there when you would naturally push on the axel as you come out of the curve. The sign is small, so I passed it. Luckily, without much traffic, I backed up a bit and drove up the driveway.

Don't miss the small sign!

The driveway up.

When I arrived, Andrea greeted me and showed me to the Nectar Loft. I was blown away at how much better it was than expected. The photos I saw online were great, but to see it actually so lovely was really nice. The decor is amazing, and even though it’s a small loft, it seems very airy, and doesn’t feel cramped at all. The space is well thought out, to even the smallest detail. I love that the interior decor accent is my favourite colour, teal.

The lovely interior.

Counter to eat at, TV, books to read...

With wooden lofts/cabins, I was afraid of rotting wood or little critters, but this place is well kept. Very modern style - like a show-home, but surrounded by serene nature.

Small kitchen, but it's got everything you need: kettle, 2 burner cook top, a small fridge. The ladder goes up to the loft bed.

Dresser by entrance and my mat matches the interior decor :)

Up the ladder, the organic cotton queen size bed awaits

Laughing Buddha welcomes guests

Details, details, details

Clean, modern bathroom

The Nectar Loft from the outside

Hammock to relax & chill in nature

Nice patio for the Nectar Loft

As I marvel at the cosy 330 sq.ft cottage, I get ready for our first yoga class in the geodome.

Steps up to geodome (the rocks are not huge, I'm just crouching)

The dome was much smaller than I expected, though that’s not a bad thing. I guess in some of the photos, it seemed as though 15-20 people could fit...but it’s more like 5, which is nice, so that it’s super cozy and the teacher can assist everyone.

If you’re a bit of a city girl and are used to its conveniences, then the Nectar Loft is ideal. You get a full kitchen to cook (helped me since I have a strict diet, so eating out can be tough) and the shower and toilet is ensuite (compared to the Forest Cottage which isn't). This also was somewhat of a concern since if I run into my IBS issues, I didn’t want to be stuck on the toilet for hours that’s outside, especially after going to bed.

With yoga, comes yoga lifestyle and choices, so it's nice to see that the place is concerned about sustainability and being eco-friendly. They only use natural cleaning products, soaps, and shampoos. They have a small compost bin in the kitchen, as well as a bin for recycling. You're asked to be conscious with the use of electricity, turning off lights or the heater when you're not home. Water usage must be used responsibly, and I didn't have water for the first couple of hours, as I was told there was a big group before that used it up. Even after, you do need a bit of patience at times, so it helped that I had brought 3 water bottles on the trip. (the water is drinkable though).

natural cleaning products, soaps, and shampoos

For bedtime, I climb up the ladder up to the loft bed. It’s nice, big and comfy. The window is a nice touch. I went to bed grateful for this place.

Nectar Yoga - Day 2

I didn’t sleep much, but that’s not because of anything to do with the B&B. I just don’t sleep well when I don’t have my own bed. Since I finally fell asleep past 3 am, I slept through 2 of my alarms and woke 10 min before the morning meditation/yoga class. I quickly got ready and rushed to the geodome.

Surprisingly, the the teacher didn’t show up. Perhaps there was some confusing with the schedule, so Andrea taught instead. This time, it was an intermediate level with headstands, but still accessible for the beginner next to me. It was so nice to have a yoga class right in the middle of nature, and to be able to see out the geodome through the clear plastic parts. It’s a very nourishing feeling with the new sun shining through.

Afterwards, Andrea rushed off to make our breakfast. It looked amazing! I wish I could have something like it prepared everyday! Despite the delicious food, it was a bit of an issue for me since I had requested no-gluten and no dairy (there’s a whole list of other things, but those are the main). I later learn that she didn’t see those requests, so it may be a technical issue with the website. That being said, if you have serious allergies, it’s best to tell her in person on day 1. She also gave me a discount for the troubles.

Beautiful breakfast!

As a person who usually packs her trips with a tight schedule because I want to do everything, it was hard to decide what to do - or not to do. I decided that the reason why I’m here is to take a break from everything, and since I’ve been especially stressed out the last 2 weeks (probably the highest this year), I knew my body was asking for rest despite my mind wanting to venture out to explore.

So I took a book onto the little hill with two chairs and soaked in the sun for a while.

Afterwards, I drove about 25 min to the other side of the island to Cape to check out the beach. It would probably take you 15 min if you could drive faster than 40km.

Unlike beaches in Vancouver, at Cape, there were no sand. It was large gravel, so not quite so comfortable, but I came prepared with some blankets and a small cushion. It was kind of loud as what seemed like a group of young kids learning how to sail were there. By the time they were leaving, I was leaving as well.

Trying to find a place for dinner is a bit of challenge - especially on Mondays and Tuesdays where a lot of them are closed. Not only that, those that are open, close at 4pm. Most places that you travel - in the world, has a McDonald’s (helps when you need something quick, or you don’t speak the local language), but not here. No Timmy’s either, or Canadian Tires, Safeway, No Frills, or any other recognizable names.

Although there were a couple of options for dinner, it was really hard for someone who had a gluten-free and no-dairy diet. Being accustomed to Vancouver where you have a wide variety of choices, I decided to try out The Pub and take out a burger and fries - no bun. It tasted great, but it wasn’t cooked well!

Nectar Yoga - Day 3

The morning class was an easy Flow/Hatha - but it was the hardest Warrior II I’ve experienced. I think it was the fact that the teacher took the time to explain the alignments and postures in great detail. This was not only helpful as a student, but also as a teacher myself, trying to learn any new ques whenever possible. When the pose is done correctly and held for a longer period of time, it gets you sweating and muscles burning!

The others staying at the B&B slept in, so it was just myself and a drop-in taking the class.

The breakfast today was customized for my needs (thank you Andrea!). The smoothie was made with coconut milk, and the fruits mixed with coconut yogurt. The waffles were gluten-free, and tasted heavenly!

Not sure if I’ve ever tipped a B&B or if anyone else does, but I felt so happy, I couldn’t leave without a thank you card and tip.

After leaving the lovely B&B I checked out the Artisan Square before my ride on the ferry. The square, along with the town is very quaint, and has the little town, but charming character. As their marketing for the island goes, it’s slow there, but friendly and down to earth.

The lineup for the ferry is a bit confusing. There are lanes on the side of the road that are reserved for the ferry. However, with intersections and lights cutting through it, you sometimes wonder if you’re in the right lineup. Also, you don’t have to pay for the ferry ride going back to Vancouver. So it’s pretty much like paying for a round trip. However, they don’t tell you that, so it may be confusing if you aren’t aware, and you’re trying to find a place to purchase tickets.

Upon returning, my cortisol shot back right up, pouring out into the traffic jam, already a car honking at me to go, even though I can’t cross the intersection since the other side is full. People don’t acknowledge or thank, whether in car or in person, and I felt a greater coldness of the city than I have ever felt.

Time to start thinking about booking Nectar Yoga for next summer...

*Note: I am not in any way sponsored or affiliated with Nectar Yoga. All views or opinions represented in this blog are personal and belong solely to the blog owner.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page